My Not So Perfect Life Review

My Not So Perfect Life

Title: My Not So Perfect Life

Author:  Sophie Kinsella

Release Date: February 7, 2017

Publisher: Bantam Press

Pages: 438 pages

Genre: Women’s Fiction/ Chick Lit

My Rating: 5star


goodreadssynopsis

Katie Brenner has the perfect life: a flat in London, a glamorous job, and a super-cool Instagram feed.

Ok, so the real truth is that she rents a tiny room with no space for a wardrobe, has a hideous commute to a lowly admin job, and the life she shares on Instagram isn’t really hers.

But one day her dreams are bound to come true, aren’t they?

Until her not-so perfect life comes crashing down when her mega-successful boss Demeter gives her the sack. All Katie’s hopes are shattered. She has to move home to Somerset, where she helps her dad with his new glamping business.

Then Demeter and her family book in for a holiday, and Katie sees her chance. But should she get revenge on the woman who ruined her dreams? Or try to get her job back? Does Demeter – the woman with everything – have such an idyllic life herself? Maybe they have more in common than it seems.

And what’s wrong with not-so-perfect, anyway?”


my review

First of all Sophie Kinsella is one of my favourite authors.

I’ll admit I wasn’t a fan of the shopaholic series. I got bored after a few of them. But her stand alone books are AMAZING!

In true Kinsella fashion, this one was also amazing!

With social media being so popular in this day and age I think this was the perfect example of what social media does to people. It gives us the sense that others are having the perfect life and then we compare ourselves to social meda. You can say that you don’t but I guarantee all of us are guilty of going on Instagram and comparing ourselves to what we see on there in some way, shape or form.

In this book Katie does the exact same thing. She is guilty of what so many of us are guilty of and in return we get not only a funny, interesting story, but one we can all relate to in some way.

I also liked how we got to know the people behind every IG account in the story and realize that behind every “perfect” account there’s a story behind it. Which is also true to real life.

Overall one of my favourite books!

One thought on “My Not So Perfect Life Review

Leave a Reply

