A Court of Thorns and Roses Review

A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1)

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Release Date: May 5, 2015

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children

Pages: 416 pages

Genre: YA

My Rating: 4star


goodreadssynopsisA thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!”


my reviewThis book was fantastic!

I had such a mix of emotions during it, which is always a great thing when reading a book.

I already can’t wait for the next!

So this review is kind of late I read this about two weeks ago and totally forgot to take notes because I was so into reading it, so I’m trying to go off of memory here.

This is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast but it is so different too. Tamlin isn’t a beast but rather has been cursed into wearing a mask. Feyre doesn’t want a library, she wants to pain!

I was hooked right from the start of this book. I needed to see what was going to happen.

Feyre is another strong female character that Maas has written. She is so bad but so good.

At first I thought there was going to be a Tamlin and Lucien love triangle and I was so into it!

Then I was fan girling over Feyre and Tamlin.

Then I was rolling my eyes at them!

I was also hooked into the plot. I needed to know what was going on.

Then at parts I was cheering on Feyre and her awesome decision making! Then I was feeling scared with her!

Ok that was a complete rambling but seriously, amazing book!

5 thoughts on “A Court of Thorns and Roses Review

    • bookdreamer24 says:

      I wouldn’t say there’s an emphasis on the romance. But it is like Beauty and the Beast, she has to fall in love to break the curse. I would say it’s more of who the Queen is, why did she put the curse on Tamlin, that kind of stuff. Like there’s a lot of fantasy element. Different Kingdoms, who wants to be in power, etc.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s